Corporate Board Member Magazine's


Honoring exemplary companies and individuals who go beyond the basic requirements of governance, regulation and compliance and serve as models for other companies and individuals to emulate.


Independent Director of the Year

Pamela Arway

Chairman of the Board, DaVita Inc.

Courage in the Boardroom

Johnson & Johnson Board of Directors

Greatest Impact on Corporate Boards

Xcel Energy Board of Directors

Lifetime Achievement

Clint Allen

Founder, American College of Corporate Directors
(Feb. 1944 – Dec. 2020)

Board Leadership Awards Celebration, Panel and Reception

Thursday, September 23, 2021
Marriott Marquis
3:30 - 6:30 pm ET

Join fellow Boardroom Summit attendees for networking and cocktails to celebrate our 2021 honorees.


Independent Director of the Year
Recognizing a non-executive chairman or lead director who has demonstrated a passion for advancing the principles of good governance.

Courage in the Boardroom
Recognizing a board that has demonstrated exemplary leadership in overcoming a significant challenge with a well-constructed response to a major incident, took a big risk or made a bold transformative change in response to business conditions.

Greatest Impact on Corporate Boards
Open to boards, investors, regulators (past and current) and other corporate governance leaders recognizing the recipient’s actions that have significantly influenced how all public company boards think about an emerging issue.


  • Bryan Jordan, Chairman, President and CEO, First Horizon National Corporation; Board Member, AutoZone
  • Edward J. “Ned” Kelly, Retired Chairman, CSX Corp.
  • Ellen Kullman, President and CEO, Carbon, Inc.; Board Member, Amgen, Dell Technologies, The Goldman Sachs Group; Former Chair and CEO, Dupont
  • Michael O’Neill, Retired Chairman, Citigroup
  • Maria Sastre, Board Member, General Mills, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Guidewell (Florida Blue Cross and Blue Shield), Miramar Services, Kalera and the Helios Education Foundation
  • Nigel Travis, Non-Executive Chairman, Dunkin Brands; Board Member, Abercrombie & Fitch and Advanced Auto Parts Inc.
  • James Umpleby, Chairman and CEO, Caterpillar; Board Member, Chevron