Ellen J. Kullman, Dick’s Sporting Goods, Estee Lauder and Martin Lipton Honored With 2020 Board Leadership Awards

© AdobeStock

Ellen J. Kullman, the veteran CEO and boardroom leader, was named  “Independent Director of the Year” today by Corporate  Board  Member in its 2nd annual Board Leadership Awards, presented in partnership with Galt & Co.

Kullman was recognized by a cross-industry committee of peer public company directors for her impressive  leadership  on the United Technologies  board through a period of tremendous change.

“Ellen has been a steady, guiding force in the transformation of the company for many years, including fighting off activist campaigns and replacing the CEO,” said Nigel Travis, Executive Chairman, Dunkin’ Brands and  Board  Member, Abercrombie & Fitch and Office Depot, who served on the selection committee for the award.

Kullman is one of four honorees the independent committee recognized for their outstanding achievements in corporate governance at a time of profound cultural and technological disruption:

> The board of Dick’s Sporting Goods is the recipient of the “Courage in the Boardroom” award for its exemplary  leadership  in making a very difficult business decision to restrict the sale of firearms in its stores during 2019.

> The board of Estée Lauder is the recipient of the “Greatest Impact on Corporate  Boards” award for its consistent and publicly recognized commitment to diversity, inclusion and the development of women leaders within the company and its industry.

> Attorney Martin Lipton is the recipient of the “Lifetime Achievement” award for the significant influence and impact he has had on the corporate governance and the public company  board  community over the past several decades.

The awards will be presented at a celebratory dinner during Corporate Board Member’s 16th Annual  Boardroom Summit in November at the Grand Hyatt in New York City.  More information: BoardMember.com/BoardroomSummit

“The goal of the Board Leadership Awards is to shine a light on those who are making a positive impact serving all of their stakeholders—shareholders, employees, customers, partners and communities—and serve as models for other companies and individuals,” said Jamie Tassa, Publisher, Corporate Board Member. “This year’s recipients are all truly outstanding examples of the best in America’s boardrooms.”

“Through their leadership, this year’s honorees have demonstrated the principles of responsible governance, proving that results and success follow,” said Joe Shalleck, Co-Founder and Senior Managing Director, Galt & Company.  “Galt is honored to again support the judges and Corporate Board Member in this important effort to recognize the best in corporate governance. We congratulate them all.” Galt & Company is a top-tier consulting firm that helps chief executives and their boards develop the strategies and organizational capabilities which deliver superior profit growth and shareholder returns.

This year’s judges panel included: Bryan Jordan, CEO, First Horizon and Board Member, AutoZone; Ned Kelly, Retired Chairman, CSX; Mike O’Neill, Retired Chairman, Citigroup; Maria Sastre, Board  Member, General Mills; Nigel Travis, Executive Chairman, Dunkin Brands and  Board  Member, Abercrombie & Fitch and Office Depot; and Jim Umpleby, CEO, Caterpillar and  Board  Member, Chevron.

  • Get the Corporate Board Member Newsletter

    Sign up today to get weekly access to exclusive analysis, insights and expert commentary from leading board practitioners.



    AI Unleashed: Oversight for a Changing Era




    20th Annual Boardroom Summit

    New York, NY